HUD Approves Transfer of Several County Housing Vouchers

JAMESTOWN, N.D. ( – The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has approved the transfer for the Foster County Housing Authority’s voucher program to Stutsman County Housing Authority effective January 1st, 2018.

HUD has also approved the transfer of Wells County’s voucher to Stutsman and Sheridan County’s program to Burleigh County. The housing voucher program is a federally funded assistance program that subsidies qualified participants rent.

“The housing voucher program is vital to rural residents, and we want to help preserve that program, ” states Executive Director David Klein. “Regulations and funding cuts make it difficult to operate these programs separately, and we were able to develop a method to create a stronger program for our region.”

One key piece in the transfer was a recent North Dakota Century Code that allows Stutsman County Housing Authority to expand their board and add representatives from Foster and Wells Counties.

Stutsman County Housing Authority jurisdiction will be Stutsman, Logan, Foster, and Wells Counties. SCHA also administers vouchers programs in Dickey and Sargent Counties, and provides technical support for multiple housing agencies.

Stutsman County Housing Authority administers Section 8 Housing assistance and HOME deposit assistance across multiple counties in the South Central Region of North Dakota. It is the mission of the Stutsman County Housing Authority to provide safe, affordable housing opportunities for persons with low and moderate income and to promote economic self sufficiency of families.